History of Change-Makers | Change-Maker Awards | Get Involved

MIT Change-Maker Award History

MIT recognizes outstanding students, faculty, and staff for their work to combat sexual misconduct at the annual Change Makers Awards, started in April 2017. Because much of this work is understated, the Awards are meant to highlight those who affect positive change in our community. Read more here. Look out for a Call to Nominate each spring.

Change Makers Awards, 2018.

2018 Change Maker Award Recipients

This language has been adapted from MIT News.

Undergraduate Student: David Dellal was honored for his leadership InterFraternity Council (IFC). As the IFC risk manager, IFC president, and founder / chair of the IFC Sexual Misconduct Committee, Dellal worked to change harmful attitudes that contribute to sexual misconduct on campus. The committee developed the CAP program to incentivize fraternity chapters’ involvement with Sexual Assault and Awareness Month as well as their participation in VPR-led trainings. 

Graduate Student: Claire Webb was recognized for her work with the Title IX Office. As the Graduate Fellow, she helped redesign the office’s website and craft educational materials. Webb's work helps students easily find the education, support, and reporting resources they need. 

Student Group: Graduate Women at MIT (GWAMIT) hosts community discussions, pairs mentors and mentees, and collaborates with the Title IX and Bias Response Office. Their work spurred several climate surveys at MIT, a New England-area survey of graduate students, and a Title IX summit with local institutions of higher education.

Faculty/Staff: Former chemistry graduate student Michelle Macleod and department head Timothy F. Jamison (Department of Chemistry) led efforts to train faculty, students, and staff. The Department now requires all principal investigators to host workshops on a bi-annual basis that focus on preventing sexual harassment and creating an inclusive learning and work environment. Their work functions as a model for other MIT departments to follow.

PLEASURE Peer Educator of the Year: Nolan O’Brien was selected as the Distinguished PLEASURE Educator this year to honor Nolan's inclusive leadership in the group. Through community workshops and dialogues in residence halls, PLEASURE promotes healthy relationships and aims to eliminate sexual violence at MIT.

Change Makers Awards 2017 news article

Change Makers Awards, 2017. 

2017 Change Maker Award Recipients

Undergraduate Student: Charlie Andrews-Jubelt, for his contributions as a member of Students Advocating for Education and Respectful Relationships (SAFER2) and founding peer educator in PLEASURE. Andrews-Jubelt is known for speaking up to challenge harmful cultural norms.

Graduate Student: Priya Moni, for her initiative to improve the online sexual harassment training programs new students take during orientation by adding content tailored to the MIT community.

Student Group: MIT's Interfraternity Council's Sexual Misconduct Committee, for designing the Consent Awareness and Prevention (CAP) certification program to recognize fraternities who prioritize member education.

Faculty/Staff: Professor David Singer, associate professor of Political Science and associate Head of House at MacGregor, for his work chairing the Presidential Committee on Sexual Misconduct Prevention and Response. Singer spearheaded the effort to ensure all faculty and staff receive training on sexual misconduct prevention as well as how to respond to a student who discloses a sexual misconduct incident.

PLEASURE Peer Educator of the Year: Brittney Johnson, for her consistent positive energy, dedication, and constructive criticism as a member of the PLEASURE Executive Board. Johnson has also instituted proactive changes to improve the group’s operations.